Im pretty new to bass, and I was just wondering what kind of bass to get.

Im a pretty casual musician, and dont plan on playing bass in any bands, its more just to play and learn, just so I know how.

Right now I'm looking at a cheap 5-string and a cheap fretless, and was just wondering if that extra string is really necesary, and also how different a fretless bass sounds.
Quote by IHATECHILDREN
Neither.

4-string. Fender P-bass.

5-string/fretless is too advanced for a beginner.

+1, theres no way you could play a fretless in tune if you're just starting out.
Quote by Demonikk
+1
I live by the method: 3 or less orange warning labels, and it's safe as a kitten

Quote by Charlatan_001
EDIT: Sammcl pretty much got it dead on.
I dont mean to bash your advice or anything, but I've played guitar for a long time and have played bass before, so I don't think a 5-string would be 'too advanced", and the fretless still has the dots along the side, so I don't have to just trust my ears.
Quote by Megalomaniac16
I dont mean to bash your advice or anything, but I've played guitar for a long time and have played bass before, so I don't think a 5-string would be 'too advanced", and the fretless still has the dots along the side, so I don't have to just trust my ears.

Guitar and bass aren't the same instrument, don't be mistaken in thinking that "bass is easier because it has less strings" or anything like that, it's as hard as you make it. As for a five string, personally I think they're easier to play, but don't start on a fretless, just cos it has neck dots doesnt mean you'll be in tune. Because with a fretted bass the fret stops the string and determines the pitch, but with a fretless your finger has to be exactly where the fret is. So start on a fretted, and move to a fretless.
Quote by Demonikk
+1
I live by the method: 3 or less orange warning labels, and it's safe as a kitten

Quote by Charlatan_001
EDIT: Sammcl pretty much got it dead on.
Quote by sammcl-15