i'm not very good with guitar effects. but i love myself some good modern rock distortion. now here's my question. i have a mesa dual rectifier...would it be pointless to buy a distortion pedal (found a new digitech hot head for 30 on craigslist) when I can just go into modern high gain with my rectifier? if someone could help me understand this or give me advice towards this, it'd be greatly appreciated. thanks guys.
Schecter C-1 Elite
Mesa Dual Rectifier (2 Channel)
Mesa Traditional 4x12 Rectifier Cab
Ovation 1778LX Elite Acoustic-Electric
that's what i thought. i love the distortion on that thing, but i was just wondering why ppl buy seperate distortion pedals when their amps can just as easily do the job. thanks for the quick reply
Schecter C-1 Elite
dude try your amp if it is the wrong sound for you yea by all means get a pedal but from the sound of stuff u think your amp is fine so save yur 30 for summit else
Unless you want a different sound that the Boogie, which is what a pedal would do for you run though the clean channel.
Otherwise, the Boogie's distortion is pretty much as modern and heavy as they come.
I would not think you actually need a distortion pedal, but some players use it as a clean boost or for a different flavor of distortion (used alone or added to the natural distortion of the amp.) I think any guitar player should have one in their pedal chain. I don't care much for Digitech in general, I would wait to get recommendations on a better sounding pedal.
all right, thanks for the all the replies guys. ima just forget about that digitech pedal altogether. i thought i was gonna be fine with the mesa's distortion, but i just wanted to make sure. you guys seem to know what you're talking about on here . saved me 30 bucks. thanks again guys.
Schecter C-1 Elite
with the setup you got, its about as modern and high gain as you'll need. some people like to tinker with overdrive (not distortions) pedals while on the gain channel tho.