I recently found this brand after watching Skillet perform live (they were amazing!) and I have been contemplating for a long time whether to get a bass or not. I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now. Thinking about the Traben Phoenix 5Str. and a Ampeg BA112... thoughts?
i just bought an array limited 5-string (should get it tomorrow). everything i read about them seems to be good but some people here dont like the weight. the phoenix should be even better and supposedly these basses are great for their price.

of course, if you get the chance, play both the bass and the amp before you buy.
I've always said that bass isn't a blowjob, and it's not supposed to feel good. I don't have much pity when a bass is to heavy or strings are too rough for fingers. That said, Trabens seem like nice enough basses. Some of their bridge designs are a bit... much, and I don't think the 'bigger bridge, bigger tone' thing goes beyond the point of a gimmick. However, it's fresh. They sound nice enough. I am, however, not in love with Basswood bodied instruments.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
Alright! I have the phoenix 5 string in blood red, and have had for probably a year or so now. And the bigger bridge for bigger tone, is somewhat true. I'd like to think that the bigger bridge gives the bass a longer sustain, as opposed to having an effect on the tone though.