Page 1 of 2
This is mainly for metalheads, but I put it in the pit, so I guess everyone can share their opinion.
So I've been playing football for 3 years (this is my 4th) and whenever we lift weights we've always listened to metal (we used to listen to nu-metal, but we ended that.)
All of a sudden, the other day I didn't have my ipod w/ me & this one kid starts playing some crap that I would probably tolerate usually, but not when lifting weights. (The reason we listen to metal for weights is because it gets us pumped)
So my friend (one of 3 who actually listen to metal on the team) changed it to Cry of the Blackbirds (Amon Amarth) & he got yelled at by the seniors (except me, but he's a junior, and we lift as juniors/seniors)
He then had to put the crap back on while me & the 2nd metal kid (who was doing squats @ the time) were verbally protesting. So I then said, "c'mon tyler let's take 'em out" but he was on squats so I jokingly acted like I was gonna start kicking ass.
Anyway, it basically became an argument where the majority of the juniors/seniors were opposing metal, saying it sucked and that they hated it. So the three of us retaliated w/ the talent factor, saying how metal has much more talent than pop/rap music. One kid continually suggested that rap has more talent than metal b/c all they do in metal is "scream."
So I then said "Did you just say rap and talent in the same sentence without the word 'no'?"
But he was trying to say that rap has much more words compact in it, which means it requires more talent.
So I explain to him that most rap is just one person talking over a keyboard with a beat playing about how much money he has or how many people he's killed or how big his dick is or how big his rims are, etc. I'm aware that not all rap is like this, but I used to listen to it, so I know plenty.
I guess what I'm saying is, do you think rap/pop (American pop) has more talent than metal? if so, please explain why.