hello,

i have been playing guitar for a couple years now and have always taught myself(aside from help from friends and family here and there) I know how to tune,play chords and im starting to learn scales. i always just played songs from tab to get better but im wondering exactly what to learn first and then after that and exc. whenever i look at beginers stuff its stuff like how to tune and what a chord is and super easy stuff but other lessons i find are over my head.

thanks,
Cephy
Learn smoke on the water- deep purple, 7 nation army- white stripes, or iron man- black sabbath
Don't worry about things being too hard, what you need to do is find things that you can't do yet, then keep on practicing until you get it. Don't spend all your time doing so-called "beginner" things, you'll never get better if you don't push yourself. But mostly, practice, practice, practice!
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Classic
Fender HM Strat
Mesa/Boogie 1987 Mark III
Peavey Classic Chorus 130
Boss GT-8
Robert Keeley TS9DX Flexi-4X2
ok cool im just trying to figured out what i can do to get better....what should i practice, practice, practice?
Lol you could try hammer on pull offs... then after u got that nailed try tapping.
Well, find things that you want to be able to do, for example, if you like tapping, then find songs with tapping in them, such as Eddie Van Halen. Other ideas might be legato, speedpicking, bending, sweep picking, things like that. And, of course, learning music theory (scales, modes) will help immensely, I try to practice all the modes for at least 10-30 minutes a day. First learn the basic shape, look it up online somewhere, then practice it until you memorize it. Once you've got it down, try improvising with it. Just some suggestions...
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Classic
Fender HM Strat
Mesa/Boogie 1987 Mark III
Peavey Classic Chorus 130
Boss GT-8
Robert Keeley TS9DX Flexi-4X2
Start alternate picking NOW!