What do you think is the absolute easiest song to play on the guitar. I want to do something that my student will semi-know. I was thinking Smoke on the water. But besides that/after that what else is there?

Right now we are just doing stuff from the Alfred book and chords.

I am not that talented either and only in 8th grade (Yeah, I know) but I just put a sign up and got a call and he signed up.
That sounds about right.

I learned the main riff to that song and the riff to Seven Nation Army (White Stripes), when I started playing guitar.
Okay, I am a bit overwhelmed. I my self just learned how to read tabs and stuff about 6 months ago. Before that I found a guitar in the garbage and i just started playing with it. Last Christmas though my mom got me a new guitar and a chord book, before that i knew a few chords and played it by ear.

So i don't really know how to start it off, I am sure once the kid gets better it will get easier its just that i never had a teacher my self and I am sure the way i play isn't 'traditional'
Do you know any theory? How chords are constructed? Can you read music? If you don't know theory you really shouldn't be teaching. I think you may be a little in over your head here.
*Taylor 214ce Acoustic
*Fender Highway One Honey Blonde Strat (Fralin Pickups)
*Epiphone Zephyr Regent (Gibson '57 Humbucker)
*Vox 847 Wah
*Fulltone Fulldrive 2 MOSFET
*Fender Blues Deluxe Amp
Yeah, I'll second JJK. You shoulden't be teaching unless you have a certain base level of experience. At least be up front with your 'student' about your skill level before you start. You may end up passing on whatever bad habits you develop and could potentially screw up his style.

If you really want to teach take some lessons yourself and make sure you understand theory. That aside, let him know that rather then teaching, you'll really be learning along with him. Otherwise, like JJK said, you'll be in over your head.