I'm working on adjusting my action, no matter how far I set the strings up - my e string F note is dead. Every other note on the guitar plays perfectly or with a minor but not really noticeable buzzing - I'm working on that, but the single note is always messed up. I think there may be something wrong with the nut - then again I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to working on a guitar. Any comments aside from calling me out as an idiot?

P.S. - I figured this forum was the right one being that it is working with guitar gear / customizing my guitar? Uhh... if not let me know. lol
check that frets height compared to other frets around it, it probably has a notch worn into it or maybe your nut height is too low at that point, so you should check that too

if your frets are worn that severely, you'll be in for a refret, and if your nut slot is too deep you'll need a new nut, preferably a professionally slotted one because people tend to mess that up alot...

and yes
this is th right place
As soon as you fret a note, the nut has nothing to do with the result. You need to lay a straight edge along the frets in line with the E string to find out where the high fret is. Also, you didn't give any measurements to say where you are with your adjustments. It is possible, that in a quest for the lowest possible action, you are still too low.