Page 1 of 2
I don't know about you, but I'm sick of people talking about the guitar like it's some ridiculous computer game or something. I see people posting things like "Ibanez pwnz Fender" or "Boss pedals are 1337" or "bass is for n00bs" or **** like that. For Christ's sake people, it's a musical instrument. Just because guitars come in lots of shapes and colors like stuff in world of warcraft doesn't mean they should be treated like that. I just saw a thread about a "guitar ladder" where players are "ranked" based on speed and ability. Wow. If you want to be in the high scores, go play diablo 2. You never see pianists or drummers or saxophonists spouting rubbish like that. The rest of the musical community looks down on the modern guitarist because of this sort of attitude. Even though I'm a classical guitar student, other musicians at my school assume I have very limited knowledge of music theory simply because of the stereotype attached to my instrument. I think the way people talk about guitars and related equipment is degrading and should be changed. Does anyone else agree?
Yes, you're spot on bud.
Co-President of UG's Tubgirl Virgins Club

Quote by SkyValley