Hey guys, I have a smart question. Since I am low on buget, well, I was wondering how it would sound to play both guitar and bass on bass amp? In that case I could stick to bass amp, with no need for a proper guitar amp, two birds with one stone. Can that function?
i used to do that before i got a guitar amp, it seemed to work ok but the tone will suck for guitar
My guitarist used to do that, before the fool realised he was using a bass amp. It sounded OK, and he pumped the volume frequently and it never hurt the amp, as after that I used it for ages for my bass.
You can do it, it has alot more bass(obviously) but thats what ive been doing for about 6 months now. Just get a really good distortion pedal, and by that I mean GOOD, not just a nuts amount of distortion.
When my guitarist's amp wasn't working he was playing out of an old OLD Sunn 4x10 combo that he just hooked up a ****ty dunlop distortion pedal to. I don't think it sounded half bad. Kinda sounded like Larry La Londe. But yeah, it will work. I just don't know if you're going to like the sounds that come out of it.
It should sound alright, but that's a subjective thing.

Either way, you'll need a bass amp, as you shouldn't play a bass through a guitar amp. Therefore, the logical thing to do is to get the bass amp and try out the guitar through it and see how you like it.
Quote by Evil_Jim43
Geekis, you are truly the Ghandi of our time

Quote by thefitz
Man, I really have to stop sigging you...

My blog:
http://david-hates.blogspot.com/
It depends on the guitar too. My Tele sounds damn good thro my bass amps, with a bit of the bass rolled off to help with note definition. So does my bro-in-laws' Dano, SG Junior (p90), and Hot Rail-ed Tele. Not so good with his Ibz RG, crusty old Aria superstrat or PRS SE. Someone mentioned the Fender Bassman; hell yeah! That big lump did as much to advance rock'n'roll as any amp.