I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now, and I still have unbelievable trouble singing and strumming at the same time. If its a measure of 8th note strums, no problem, except the fact that I can't count the 8 and sing at the same time, so I have to base how far into the measure I am based on the vocals, so if I were to play in a band, I'm 90% sure I wouldn't be in time.

If I attempt to strum something a little more nice sounding while I sing, I can't do both at once so I usually end up strumming the rhythm of the lyrics, or some awful sounding hybrid of the two >.<...

I'd also like to be able to do this with single string stuff...

Some people don't seem to ever have any problems with this sort of thing. My friend can do it just fine, and most people I ask say they've never had a problem with it...Am I stupid or something? I would think this sort of thing could be worked out with practice, but I don't really know if there is any special way you are supposed to practice this.

Any suggestions?
normally its because you dont know the song well enough and your fingers dont "memorize" when to go where just keep practising the song and try singing random bits in time in the end you'll get it
i used to have the same trouble, so i just started off with an easy country song (long black train by Josh Turner), and worked through that...my next big step was stupid boy by Keith Urban, had a tough time with it but worked hard and it just clicked one day...now i can play and sing a good bit of dave matthews....so i guess just work slow and keep battling through it
'I love her, but I love to fish...I'm gonna miss her"
Quote by gavindavis
normally its because you dont know the song well enough and your fingers dont "memorize" when to go where just keep practising the song and try singing random bits in time in the end you'll get it