I have a lot of cables that I inherited from my uncle. They are all standard guitar cables, but they are all like over 4 or 5 feet each. Pretty soon I am gonna have like 3 pedals hooked up to my half stack, but I dont have any short cables. I have heard that you dont want long cables connecting all of your pedals, because it can hurt your tone, is this correct?

I was thinking of maybe shortening the cables myself, is this possible? I have never done something like this before, maybe someone can walk me through how to do this. Your help would be greatly appreciated!
You can do it yourself, but it may be harder with certain cables. Post pics of the ends of the cables, and we'll tell you if it's worth it.
FOR AWESOME HANDWOUND PICKUPS, CONTACT CorduroyEW
BOOBS
Quote by ratmblink123
Good for you. Have a cookie.

But really... there's no cookie. And if there was, you wouldn't get one.
buy some 90 degree jacks and soldier them to those cables or use the ends you have and shorten them then soldier them. its not that difficult.
Quote by thebroken
No, but one time satan came out of my air vent and started playing death metal. That, or I should stop drinking.
Quote by ShredGod George
tell a doctor, the pit'll have you putting icyhot on your penis before the nights over
This is what they all basically look like, standard straight, nothing fancy or really different about them.
Attachments:
497670.jpg
Quote by Shard Heilia
Go out and buy a package of little patch cables? >_>

Well Im kinda broke right now otherwise I would. I figured since I have like 10-15 long cables I could shorten a few of them for really cheap.
Quote by lucas_22
buy some 90 degree jacks and soldier them to those cables or use the ends you have and shorten them then soldier them. its not that difficult.

Well I have never done something like this before, I have never even used a soldiering gun before, thats why I am asking if someone can walk me through how to do this.
Quote by cbehrendt