Hey,

For the first time ever I pulled out my drum machine and said to myself, okay, I'm going to record a demo for a song I'm writing. Well I got halfway done with the first bit of it and said, wow, this sucks. So rather than waste my time finishing it, I thought I'd upload it here for some opinions. The name of the song is Black Trip, though that might change as I work on it more. And this isn't really a full song, obviously. There is a poorly done drum track as I've never really used the machine before, and, well let's face it, I'm a guitarist, what do I know about drums?

Everything is mixed really bad and it is slightly off-beat, with several mistakes. I'm going to work on the song in Guitar Pro 5 and upload it that way in a few days, but for now I want some opinions.

How does it sound, as a riff? Does it remind you of anything? What genre would you consider it to be? I've never ever written anything with a genre in mind, but I am very curious to hear what other people think it sounds like.

http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/Mud+Martian/music/all/play78999

I also wouldn't mind some tips on recording and mixing this stuff. I use Guitar Rig 2 to record my guitar parts and then go back to mix them later in Goldwave, but I find it very hard to keep things in time. I wish my band were still together, flying solo can be tough when it comes to recording and putting songs together.

Anyway thanks in advance for your thoughts.

-Muddy
from my recording experiences, you can tell when a song is worth keeping from the first minute or first few bars. you can tell when youve started something you think is good and you will feel like you want to carry it on. just play around for a while until u can come up with something that sounds different or unique to you.
Quote by Davester000