Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for 4 years, I've got a decent technique going and can phrase pretty well, but I have one critical problem. I stay in one "box". Those of you who know guitar scales probably know what I'm talking about. I've looked up on how to conquer this issue BUT there are about half a billion scales to learn. Which ones are essential for:

-SRV/Hendrix style soloing (Red House/Little Wing) and other blues
-Jimmy Page quick fast solos (e.g. Communication Breakdown/Whole Lotta Love)
-80s metal (Kirk Hammett style)

Thanks guys!
learn obviously the blues scale from octave to octave box. IE (0 to 12) get so in twined with that with the scale from top to bottom that you can recall its third form in an instant. if you do that then you'll have 7 different scales by just learning how to play the blues scale from its entirity.

1 SRV and Hendrix used blues scale with added notes here and there but when you played and mastered the different forms of the same scale minor major hormonic blah blah blah.
2. jimmy page uses the blues pentatonic, so learn the inside out of his solos and start to rip off some of his licks and add some flavor with it with your new scale knowledge, and yes everyone has ripped off someone some how, if not steve vai with crazy melodic phrases to chuck berry with the standard 7b 5 5 thing to bob dylans chord progression and lyrics to beethovens sonatas to church hymns. what else would explain that feeling when you've heard a song for the first time but get the feeling that you've already heard it before.
3. hes the master of the pentatonic box, so i'd just listen to alot of metallica and also master the different shapes of the pentatonic scale. a mixolydian and a locrian wouldn't hurt either.
My Gear:
epiphone les paul cusom, Limited edition. evo dimarzio pick ups
Parker P-38
epiphone hummingbird
line 6 flextone
crate vtx 120

head full of ideas.