Im a noob at recording, why do bands record multiple layers of guitars within their songs?

Obviously if the guitars are doing different things i understand.

But from what i have read it seems people record the same guitar part for left and right? and maybe also clean and dirty sounds?

is this true?

does it make that much of a difference to the sound?

Thanks
cause it sounds cool. if you record two guitars in the left and right then it sounds like theres 2 ppl playing the same thing on either side of you, instead of 1 person in front of you. if you record one clean and one dirty, then the two signals combine to make a unique sound. if you record many that are exactly the same then it can just make it sound more beastly and full.
So would you just duplicate the track, and makeone left and one right?

or actually play and record the track twice?
***Record the same guitar part, twice...do not copy and paste, this will do nothing at all***

It just sounds better in most cases.

I record with 4 different guitar tracks. The main rythmes i pan all to theleft and all to the right...this gives a HUGE and BEEFY tone that is like a wall of sound...it also surrounds the listener and sounds great when played tight and together...not the best technique if you are sloppy and can't play the same riff in time twice.

Mess around and see what you like.

The general rule is, to achieve a wall of sound, or to beef up or give your guitars balls, use this technique...usually called "double tracking".
The fact that doubling parts leaves you with two parts that are *slightly* (if you have a good player) out of time really thickens up the tone. If the two parts are two far out of time it sounds awful, but if they are relatively close it can work wonders. Sometimes I will track guitar up to 8 times and then pan them appropriately.

Also - the reason they are typically panned is so that they sonically don't step all over the vocals and other instruments that would be panned dead center.