Hi, im a "Self taught" Guitarist and I like to play by ear (Dont use tabs at all).

Im used to playing Jimi Hendrix stuff. Im familair and can play a number of his songs.

Im now slowly getting into Joe Satriani but alot of his stuff includes grand shredding.

So I was hoping that some of you fellow guitarists could recommend any songs/artists to listen and play so I can be slowly introduced into Shredding rather than attempting to emulate the likes of Joe Satriani right off.

Please recommend music without "Screaming".
Instrumentals would be exactly what im looking for.
Just some songs wth examples of "Amatuar" shredding I can practice before I jump into the deep end just yet.

Thanks in Advance
John Petrucci - wishful thinking.

EDIT: a link <=== click

Quote by KileManA7X
I remember my first erection. I went to my dad and was like "Do I have Aids???". I seriously thought there was something wrong with me.

Last edited by p.stick at Sep 20, 2007,
just keep working at the satch stuff because tbh his stuff is relatively easy compared to some other stuff out there.

get software that slows the song down to at least half speed, then work it out yourself and play along.

but make sure that you playing is clean and accurate before increasing the speed.
Rhythm in Jump. Dancing Close to You.

Quote by element4433
Yeah. people, like Lemoninfluence, are hypocrites and should have all their opinions invalidated from here on out.
most megadeth stuff has some shreds
Gear:
Jackson DKMG Dinky (EMG 81/85)
Ibanez GIO (i put a Dimbucker in the bridge)
Crate GT65 (65 watts) to be upgraded soon, suggestions welcome (must be tubed)
Floor Pod (for sale)
this should be a good thread, i also don't like the screaming in the recent metal music i've heard.

Try "always with me, always with you" and "crystal planet" by satriani, those aren't too hard.