Hello Everyone, I just wanted to share a problem I'm having with figuring out if I can have a decent future with the guitar. First, here is my backround,( Im 21 years old) Im going to college right now close to full time, my major is architecture. Im taking Biology, Architecture practice and Geometry right now because I have to take Trigonometry after Geometry.
So I spend about 5 hours studying for both Bio. and Geo. a day. Well, before fall semester started I was getting pretty good at playing the guitar I was becoming an intermediate player, I was a beginner who knew basic material and with much practice I began picking up lots of speed and developing my playing techniques and my ear.
Then college started and I found my self struggling to find time to practice,
I used to practice about six hours a day or more. I had a serious practice schedule with exercises and songs that I would play that would help me learn something. Well, the classes started requiring more studying and I had to completely drop playing, the only thing I do now is just hear songs in my car and pratice my ear training trying to pay attention to what the guitarist is doing , and trying to figure out what he is playing. I have heard of people playing about three hours a day and still going to school at the same time, but is that enough to become advanced. My definition of becoming advanced would be the ability to solo across the whole guitar neck like the way Zakk Wylde, Marty Friedman, or Eric Johnson can. I would love to just shred the the guitar like the way Matt Heafy from Trivium does. Thats my ultimate goal and its what I strive for with my 6 hours plus playing , but I just can't find the time to do it anymore, I can probably scratch out 2 or three hours a day and maybe 5 hours on the weekends.