I started learning to play the acoustic guitar a few months ago and have been teaching myself how to play. The one thing I still really struggle with is barring frets. Does anyone have any tips that might be helpful? Thanks.
I don't know, I've been told by a few people about having the need for stronger fingers too - but when I finally ended up learning to do bar chords, it ultimately had to do with how I was placing my index finger. It doesn't take my much strength to do it, but if I don't place it correctly it won't work.

And yes, practice. Practice practice practice. David Bowie's Ziggy Stardust and Adam Sandler's Grow Old With You (yeah, serious) helped me learn bar chords.
You can try putting your finger closer to the fret instead of in the middle, and some random guy told me one time to "push" the fret board into your finger by pulling the guitar towards you (kinda with your right elbow) if that makes any sense.......worked for me.
For me, like re infinity it depends on my hand placement in general. I have to get my index finger to lay properly across the fretboard in a decent arc shape. I also had to get used to having my thumb in the center of my neck for some barre positions and moved closer to the top for other positions. Of course your finger will have to get stronger too over time but its technique as well as finger strength.
-Denny
PRS Singlecut Trem

Member #2 of the Coheed and Cambria fanclub, PM dementedpuppy to join.
jack johnson's flake is another good song to practice barres
Quote by .smudged.
Sex is overrated, try World of Warcraft.
Hey there.