Poll: Which amplifier?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which amplifier?
Ampeg SVT 6-PRO
11 65%
Gallien-Krueger 2000RB w/ factory upgrades
6 35%
Voters: 17.
OK, as a few of you know I put some money down on an American-made Ampeg SVT 6-PRO head. However, it's not yet fully paid off and some inner voice keeps bugging me to look into the Gallien-Krueger 2000RB that's sitting right next to it at the same price. The GK is used, like the Ampeg, and comes with the cooling upgrade and three bridge cables. It's not too late! Which head would ultimately do me better? I've played both thoroughly, and they both sound fantastic. I can't decide!! Thanks for your help
"Comedy's a dead art form. Now tragedy, that's funny." -Bender Bending Rodriguez
Last edited by mountaindew88 at Sep 20, 2007,
AS a touring musician i use GK because it is built to last
my friend also tours and he went through 3 ampeg heads in 1 year, top of the line ones too, and he switched to GK and that thing has lasted him 1 1/2 years so far
If he was touring with a Classic or 2-PRO I could understand a breakdown, they've gotta be fragile and hard to transport........... what did he formerly use?
"Comedy's a dead art form. Now tragedy, that's funny." -Bender Bending Rodriguez
Quote by treebranch13
he tried 3 diff, and considering the size of his rack, i bet he tried this 1

if it was the thin, 2-rackspace one with two rows of knobs, it's the 6-PRO. If it was massively huge, it was the 2, 4, or 5-PRO.
Dude, did you get the PM I sent you?

I still think you should stick with the SVT6 unless you're biamping. People who say GK aren't paying any attention to the model number and the fact that it was discontinued. The new version of it is pretty much the same with the exception of the fact that it won't blow up.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
Quote by thefitz