I've been playing guitar for about six years now and I've just taken up the saxaphone.

Already I have a great feeling I'm going to enjoy the sax, however I'm worried that I might affect my guitar playing. On the one side it should push me on - I'll be forced to study notation far more and I be able to record layers to develop my ideas (I'm the guitarist in a funk band and I should find writting brass parts easier) however.

On the other hand, it means less practice time, more compitition, less attention paid to the guitarists I study, less grade work and so on.

Hopefully it's a case of spending the time you have wisely - only recently have I truely appreciated the importance of theory, for example.

Can anyone vouch for this?
playing sax will be absolutely great for your guitar lead playing!
and very good for your notation/theory etc. too
The gear is in the profile.
You know you want to take a look

╠═══════╬═══════╣
Strat-mangling, echo-eating janglefan σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣
growing musically is just as important as growing technically,it would improve your phrasing and melodic understanding,plus you really enjoy it,so
go for it!
I can play 5-6 other instruments besides guitar and bass and none of them have hurt my playing. Every instrument you add helps.
Quote by corduroyEW
Cheap amps are "that bad". They suck up your tone like cocaine at Kate Moss' party.

I am Michael!
By all means, do it. I can pretty much play any instrument you put in front of me, and that's helped tremendously to grow as a musician.
hai guize join mah gr00pz plz kthx:

Personally guitar was my secondary instrument to the trumpet and it's my time spent playing other instruments that seems to compliment my trumpet playing ability the most. It'll give you a whole new perspective on the guitar, don't worry about it hampering your technical ability in any way.
People writing songs that voices never shared
No one dared
Disturb the Sound of Silence
I agree, go for it.