I need some help!

First of all, heres my PC Specs

1gb ram
AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
Onboard sound
ABIT AN-M2 motherboard

I bought an MSI NX8600GT, which comes factory overclocked to 580/1600.

I bought it yesterday, it was fine for about an hour, and I was playing half-life 2 episode 1, and there were some pretty crazy artifacts.

You can see a blue line along the top, no gravity gun, there were yellow artifacts coming out of the invisible grav gun, alyx had blue eyes with spikes coming out of them, and there were LOTS of blue artifacts coming from top right corner.

I alt tabbed, and my computer was in 640x480, with 4 bit color, and I reset my computer. It was fine from then on, until a bit later, and there were also more artifacts coming out of a car, but they went away.

It was fine for a few hours, and i finished playing.. Later I started playing civilization 4, and low and behold, more artifacts.

Units were invisible, minimap disappeared, civ flag disappeared, crazy black artifacts.

I reset again, and the problem fixed itself. I woke up thismorning, decided to continue playing half life 2, and i played for about 20 minutes before i got more yellow artifacts off a combine soldier, and as i turned around to alyx, i crashed. Now any autosave i open comes up with either a "failed to lock vertex buffer CMeshDX8::LockVertexBuffer" error, or "Internal Driver Error in IDirect3dDevice9 ::Present()".

And Civilization 4 is fine up until i actually get into a game, in which it gives me a blue screen and crashes.

Its still happening, and I've reinstalled drivers with driver cleaner and everything, tried using different versions of drivers, i've tried underclocking, to no avail.

Its also happening in Far Cry, i got about 10 minutes of normal play out of it, and then I had crazy artifacts, and it froze when i went into the menu.

Does this mean that the card is stuffed and I should take it back? or is it something on my end?

Sorry for the wall of text by the way.

peace