Well, I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I want to learn bass now. So what's a descent beginner's bass for around 200-250 bucks(US).

I play a lot of Rage and bands like Soundgarden and Pearl Jam. You already know my budget. And i was also wondering if i could play it through a guitar amp. Would that be OK? i really don't see how it wouldn't. Maybe it just wouldn't give me a good solid bass tone but right now I'm really just looking for a bass.

Suggest away.

Thanks.
"We barely remember who or what came before this precious moment"

Tool, anyone?
Alter Bridge, maybe?
A bit of John Mayer?
Some beethoven sounds delightful, as well.
basses blow out guitar amps
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.
I really really like my Squier Vintage Modified J-bass, great for the price, looks nice, sounds nice. Its better than the 5 string Yamaha Rxwhatever with active pickups. I traded it for this and I don't really regret it.

Im a total newb at bass, but it lets me play anything from U2 to Muse to Sparta and sound right
a good bass for your price would be a used yamaha. or a squire since you're starting.
and yes you can play a bass through a guitar amp. i use a guitar amp when i go to lessons. so its ok.
♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪

Quote by Rune Playaz
I vote thycrusader for 'The guy who hit the nail on the head'

Quote by Emilyyy.
thycrusader = Thigh_Crusader
Ok. How do you guys feel about those squire beginner bass packages. I heard they suck but only for guitar. I haven't heard anything about bass.

i'll look up some yamaha and squire stuff now.

Tool, anyone?
Alter Bridge, maybe?
A bit of John Mayer?
I'd buy everything separate I looked at the beginners packs and the bass looked pretty crappy and the amp was total pure junk. Used is probably the way to go for you