OK, as a couple of you know I joined a major-label band, and am just in the early stages of cutting my teeth with them. Anyway, I was talking to Tim (the frontman) and was asking him about how they do their live setups, and he said they have absolutely no amps on stage; everthing's done through Line 6 PODS. AAHHH!!! I'm in the process of buying a really expensive amp, and he tells me this?

Anyway, what should I do? In order to conform with their live setup, I either need to A) not buy the amp and get a POD or B)buy the amp and DI it to the board. However, if I go with option B, wouldn't I still need a speaker setup onstage? I'm really confused, I'm a knowledgeable musician but know little about live technology!

Thanks!
"Comedy's a dead art form. Now tragedy, that's funny." -Bender Bending Rodriguez
Buying the POD would be much less expensive so you might wanna go with that...plus it'll make your job and the tech's job easier.
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
if I did get the POD, would it pay to have an amp just in case? Not every show will have the big-gun PA system. And even if I did buy an amp, my max limit would be $500 which is much less than the amp I'm chipping away at right now. At GC they sold my 3-PRO really fast, and because I haven't finished paying for the 6PRO they said if I wanted I could swap it out for anything I wanted (and pay/be payed the remainer of my tab).

Whaddya think?
"Comedy's a dead art form. Now tragedy, that's funny." -Bender Bending Rodriguez
You should definately conform with the band's setup. Then later on, when you can afford it, then worry about getting an amp, but until then, I say go with the Line 6 POD.
I am a lucid dream to the illusionary slumber
Wading in a cesspool of forgotten memory
An insignificant host to the collective subconscious

~Sacred Slumber