3 6%
19-24 Months
2 4%
2 Years +
1 2%
I still cant tune
10 19%
Voters: 52.
Hey guys. Here's the story i have been playing guitar for about 18 months now, and i still cant tune very well and its very annoying. So my question is how long had you been playing till you could tune or can you still not tune.
EDIT: I'm talking about by ear
Last edited by 11223344554433 at Sep 27, 2007,
By ear, or with a device?

Basically you should just see some theory and practice your hearing and you'll be just fine.

My Youtube Page

I wrote this story so many days ago
and the words kept falling onto pages.
Without the loss we can't go on
and with the loss we became strong.

Quote by ItWillDo
By ear, or with a device?

Basically you should just see some theory and practice your hearing and you'll be just fine.

By ear. I know i should be able to tune by now. Its really annoying and i have gotten a fair bit of theory practise.
I can't really tune my guitar yet. Been playing for about 13 months I guess, and I can tune from D to drop C and back by ear. If the guitar is just a bit out of tune I can get it back into a proder D standard I guess.

Oh, and I don't know any theory at all, so that shouldn't be your problem. You'll know when the guitar sounds right and not regardless.
Do you mean to pitch or just so the guitar is in tune with itself? If you're asking if people can make the e string an e, then very few people can do this. Tuning a guitar to itself on the other hand is something you WILL pick up. It took me a while as well.
If it's in some kind of tuning, I can generally figure it out. If nothing else, I just need to find out the note on the low E and work from there. I know Standard, D standard, Drop C and Open C by heart.
Quote by raise_the_dead
I wouldnt be surprised if the first thing Varg did was sign up for WoW so he could kick some Judeo-Christian ass.

Final Fantasy

Cid Highwind of the Final Fantasy Elite - PM me, Ichikurosaki, Gallagher2006, or Deliriumbassist to join!