Hey, I was wondering if anybody can help me with changing valves on a tube amp, or point me to a site that can.

I've got a Vox AC15, and it's only been four months but annoyingly already one of the valves seems to be going - I'm getting a harsh crackling noise then a hum. It's been getting more and more frequent as I've been playing and I know I have to change the valve now as it's practically unusable otherwise.

I want to know what equipment I need, what I should do to test the valves, and what precautions, etc. I should take when changing them. I can't really afford to take the amp to a professional as I'm a student, and have very little money at the moment.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sounds to me like a bad cable or bad input jack on either the guitar or amp

if you do not know what you are doing when changes valves, get a pro to do it, you can seriously damage your amp and possibly injure yourself...they hold a charge even when not plugged in
BC Rich Mocking bird
Ibanez Artcore
Epiphone LP JR customized
80's Vantage
Takamine 12 String
Ibanez Bass
Washburn Bass
Marshall JCM900
Marshall 1960a 4x12 with 75's
Acoustic 150
Line 6 POD
Boss OC-2
Heil Talk box
^ Tubes don't. The capacitors do. As long as you're not messing around INSIDE the amp, you should be fine. I really wish people wouldn't say completely false things and scare people unnecessarily. You shouldn't need anything besides new tubes to change the tubes. As far as testing them, you look for a couple things. First, is one glowing a different color than the others? Is it getting little spark flares or glowing purple? Something that shows a vacuum leak? Also, with the amp on, tap the tubes with a pencil. Do you hear a noise? Those are really the only ways to find a bad tube without a tube tester, which is expensive.