I have £200-250 to spend on recording hardware and i have no experience what so ever so can someone recommend me some super fantasmic recording equipment for that price range please?

What i want is something quite vintage sounding (i know that comes at a price) for an electric guitar and maybe vocals.

I think i'm going for the shure sm7 microphone to get me started unless anyone has any better options.

and just to clarify i also need a preamp a mixer and then interface?

thanks
$504 USD

you wont get any "super fantasmic" recording equipment for that price but you can get some good gear. Does your desktop computer have a firewire port and good specs?

If so, go with a Shure SM57 vocal mic with pop filter for vocals
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Shure-SM57-InstrumentVocal-Mic?sku=270102
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Nady-Metal-Pop-Filter?sku=426600

And this mackie firewire interface:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Mackie-Onyx-Satellite-Recording-Interface?sku=248154

Be sure to get some XLR cable for the mic and any other cables needed to hook into the interface.

That interface and most have a built in preamp..the preamp on this mackie is good quality as well.
ok what about the m-audio fast track interface, is that good? or is the pro a better option?

also do i need a mixer?

oh and i have a good pc, 1gb ram usb and firewire slots etc. should do the job

thanks for your help!
Last edited by 3nemy at Sep 27, 2007,
with an interface like the mackie or m-audio units there's usually just 2 inputs you can record with at a time...now if you have a drum set you could hook the output of an unpowered mixer to the input of the interface to give you more inputs but you need to keep an ear on the mix as you cant adjust the separate inputs after they have been fed though the mixer and into the interface making it one track.