Hey guys,

I've had my ENGL Screamer for a little while now, about six months. I bought it second hand for very cheap, because the guy swapped out the tubes and the speaker. I put new tubes in, and it sounded a lot better, but it still doesn't sound quite right.

The sound on the gain channels at the moment is very indistinct and muddy, but at the same time quite fizzy. I've been fiddling with my EQ for about 6 months now, so I know it can't be that. I then thought I was just using too much gain (although I only had the gain at one o'clock anyway), but the trouble persisted.

Basically it sounds very mushy and flabby at the bottom end, but at the same time very fizzy at the top end. What would the solution be?

At the moment the speaker in it is a ****ty Celestion V12-80 - should I swap it for a Celestion Vintage 30?

Should I buy an EQ pedal to really fine-tune the EQ, add some mids and low-mids and take out some bass and treble to clear it up?

Some even recommend the BBE Sonic Stomp, (although I've read criticisms), might this help?

Is there anything else I could do?

Thanks guys, I do appreciate your help
Id say both solutions should work really. The Speaker is a good place to start depending on how much it will set you back however you may not like the results as you have no idea how it will sound till its loaded into the amp.

The EQ would probably make the most sense to me as you can always use an EQ no matter what amp its running into making it a better proposition for the long term.

Most muddiness is caused by badly eq'd mids and if you cant dial in the mids you need to kill the muddiness using the amps controls then an eq pedal should give you much more control.

When using a EQ pedal its important that you cut frequencies rather than boosting them.
This is due to the fact that boosting the freqs actually adds gain and therefore volume to the particular area you boost whereas if you cut you will not loose volume rather just reduce frequencies heard.