Hey guys, I just started playing, I have a crappy fender strat, and I play on my teachers http://www.yamaha.com/guitars/products/productdetail/0,,CNTID%25253D60088%252526CTID%25253D600014%252526CNTYP%25253DPRODUCT,00.html

I'm really into metal and blues, but i have no idea where to start. I've been playing some tabs, but its kinda boring, and usually confusing.

For metal and blues: Are their better picks for each genre? Right now I'm using a .5 dunlop. No idea if i should use thinner or thicker picks, for each genre. So any reccomendations would be great.

If you guys could just help me out, tell me what would be the best way to get started, I would really appreciate it.

Melodies and rythms aren't a problem, I play alto,bari, and tenor sax (bari mainly) some sousaphone, clarinet, some snare drum, so I shouldnt need any rythmic help.

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!
I have been playing for one year in October. Your first year will be getting finger strength and dexterity. I did chromatics (1-2-3-4, next 1-2-3-4, etc.) all up and down the fretboard till I could do it with a little speed and few mistakes.

I then went on to scales (Pentatonic, Major, Diatonic) and did those till I could move fairly quickly. I added bends, extra notes, etc. to keep it interesting. For scales, this web page cannot be beat:

http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_scales.php?qqq=+0&scch=C&scchnam=Harmonic+Minor&get2=Get

I would also look at some theory about scales and chords and how they fit together. My only concern about your post is the fact you got board. Learning this instrument (any string instrument for that matter) is tough and requires dedication and, maybe more importantly, determination. You can go about it differantly but you will find yourself frustrated unless you slow down and realize this is a lifetime of learning and that will never end. Take your time, your axe will reward you if you do .

Chris