First off, I'll just state that I was introduced to Megadeth when I was 11, and by the time I was 13 I wouldn't listen to anything intentionally that wasn't metal (currently 19).

I've been playing for about three months, the first month or so almost exclusively scales and songs I had thought would be easy, yet found out I was horribly horribly wrong. As of a month ago, I have been taking it much more seriously and am playing 3-4 hours a day. Today's accomplishment has been playing "Mortal Share" by Insomnium at normal speed without stopping with only a few errors, Lead for the majority of the song, and Rhythm for the solos. Anyhow this is just to give a bearing on where I'm at.

My main question is, what kind of exercises should I be doing? I have been dodging practicing hammer-ons and pull-offs, as whenever I try to do them, the note just dies, which is frustrating. And I'm sure at one point I should learn to sweep, but that may be out of my ability right now...

And another smaller question is this: my pinkies are 'bent', will this cause me to be unable to play more technical things?
You can't avoid practicing Hammer Ons and Pull Offs forever, you will eventually need them, especially in solos. Judging by your taste in music, you can't avoid using hammer ons/pull offs. Make sure to practice those. Practice your scales everyday too, master them to the point where your sick of it and can play it relatively fast. Try looking up scales like Phrygian and Aeolian. A lot of guitarist in metal use those scales. I recommend looking at the lesson section of this site, it's pretty helpful.

As for your pinky's being "bent", I'm not quite sure what you mean, but as long as you use it a lot, you'll get used to using it to play and it shouldn't be a problem. Good luck.
Current Equipment List
Jackson Customized King V
Crate FXT 120 Combo Amp
Marshall MG10CD Practice Amp
Harmony Electric Guitar
Esteban Acoustic Guitar
Martin D35 Acoustic