I'm wicked excited

I've been self taught up to this point (10 years total, but only a year seriously because I did'nt actually own a guitar until then). I was wondering if there's anything in particular I should communicate to my instructor to let him know where I'm at (other then just saying "I know basic scales and chords, now what"). Also, aside from making sure my strings are in good shape and tuned, is there anything else I should do/have to be prepared? I'm probably overthinking things, but I wanna make sure I don't waste any time so I can get the most out of it.

Thanks in advance
Well, as you said make sure your gear is all god, and then just go in with an open mind, tell the guy/girl what you know and what you can do, and if theysay lets go a step back, then let them, because they will need to go a step back to be consistent with their teaching to make sure you havent missed out on somethingthat will be built on later... In fact, if they dont try to take you a step back, maybe you should go the step back anyway, standard sort of teaching really, new year, start a little back, helps refresh memories and fills in any small gaps and stuff.

Just dont be all cocky and show off and stuff, wont get you anywhere
Thanks for the advice. Yeah, considering I'm asking the guy for lessons it'd be bad form for me to try to be cocky, but I'll make an extra point to leave my ego at the door

Thanks again!

-Edit- On a side note, you raise a good point. What should I be looking for as he's teaching me? The first two lessons are free (they were having a special when I bought the guitar), but I want to make sure I'm getting my money's worth when I start paying (should I decide to).
Last edited by Garou1911 at Oct 2, 2007,
What should you be looking for? I dunno, what do you want out of your lessons? Are you looking to play a certain style, interested in lots of theory, do you want to cover a wide variety of genres?

Of course every guitar teacher who's worth anything should: