So say i want to recrord an audio track into a program like cubase/protools/logic etc...
and that audio track has to come from a keyboard that can have different sounds etc.. (strings/drums/ all that) then how could i do this... ? using an audio interface?
where does MIDI come into it? can you do it without MIDI?
someone please help me!!! *confudeled newbe*
I'm no expert on this, but I think most keyboards have a digital out or audio out that you can hook a cord or two into, and then plug the other end of the cord into your computer. Again though, I've just seen this done before with *a* keyboard. Not sure which ones are compatible, or the specifics. Sorry I can't help more.
Main Gear:
Cort G-Series 254
Takamine EG345C 12-String
Fender Squier P-Bass

Peavey Classic 50
Laney HCM65B

$75 Junk Drums w/ B8 Hats/Crash/Ride
You should be able to use the software to control the keyboard using MIDI but if you're planning on using the keyboard for a number of parts you have to first figure out how to set up and use a multi setup (or similar) on the keyboard. And, of course, you need some kind of MIDI interface that can "communicate" your keyboard MIDI data for the computer software. And you need to set the recording software up properly as well.

The easiest way is probably just to hook up the stereo outs of your keyboard to whatever audio interface you're using and recording the parts "live" (if you have the skills for it).
can someone explain to me how MIDI works?
so you go keyboard- (midi out) - audio interface - (midi in) - computer - audio interface - (midi out) ..............is that right?
if it is... where does the last (midi out) "out" to? where does it go.. and why?
MIDI is not audio. If you want to make sounds using MIDI data you'll need a tone-generator, or synthesizer as it's often called. So if you want to record MIDI data from your keyboard, you'll need a synthesizer to turn it in to sounds.