My thump is messed up, nerve damage. Got some movement, Its basicly the joint to the nail thats dead. As if i was to give thumbs up, from the middle to top wouldn't stand. This makes slapping hard enough, and aiming for a string impossible. Its really starting to break my heart. I've been playing for two years and busted my ass to get where i'm at. Its hard enough going threw life sucking at thumb wars.
tried playing like flea where your thumb kind of hangs down perpendicular to the strings? i'm guessing that would be easier, maybe?
hmm damn man i feel sorry for you i think it might be a practice thing.... but you could learn to play finger funk really well to substitute with that but man i really hope someone can provide more insight than me
I am me. Live with it.
I'm not positive, your talking about the same thing, but if you are then I will tell you how I do it. I take my hand, and like i was going to pimp slap a hoe i slap my strings (but with my Pinky and and hand. And while im doing that i pick it at the same time and it creates a sort of slap like i've heard in jack Johnson songs, and others. Is that the slap your talking about?
I'm willing to try anything. And determented as all hell, would any of you happen to know of any lessons online for these techniques?
Look up John Entwistle's typewriter technique. It's off his Hot Licks DVD. It basically involves having your fingers parallel to the strings and smacking them down towards the fret like a typewriter's arm doed to paper.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
You could try slapping like victor wooten.
Go youtube it, and see what he slaps like.
Splint your thumb? Or is that as stupid a suggestion as it sounds?
How may The National D help you waste your time?
Quote by The National D
Splint your thumb? Or is that as stupid a suggestion as it sounds?