This may sound stupid, but im new to learning scales etc

what scale is this from, and how can you tell?

-12-10--------------------------12-
-----------13-12-10-12-13--------
---------------------------------------

(Abit of Arctic Monkeys - 505)
i am taking it you have given us the 1st and 2nd strings there, if so it could be a few different ones... but you have a R 2 b3 4 5 taking A as the root, so probably A minor. you could also say A dorian until the 6th is exploited.

Or in a given context, you could probably say a few other scale too.

thanks :] how did you work that out? do you just know how minor scales are formed already?
i dont get the

WWHWWWH for majors and the

WHWWHWW for minors

it doesnt make sense :S can someone please help?
The chord that it's being played over will tell you what scale it is.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
It's in E minor then, but it'll feel kind of D mixolydian over the Dm chord...i think.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc

Last edited by steven seagull at Oct 1, 2007,
Quote by steven seagull
It's in E minor then, but it'll feel kind of D mixolydian over the Dm chord...i think.

not too sure where that came from...

the key is A minor and the scale is also A minor. (parallel to C Major)

Dm and Em are the 2nd and 3rd of C Major (a minor)... that is why they are minor.
I would bet other chords used in this song could be CMaj, GMaj and obviously... A minor.

Dm wont make a D mixolydian sound, due to the b3. Mixo has only a b7.
It's a very simple song - it literally only contains Dm and Em. Overall the feel is very, well, E-ey...with the Dm feeling very unresolved, that being the case the lick feels more E minory to me than anything else.
Actually called Mark!