So I'm looking to be as well rounded of a player as possible, and I'd like to learn new styles of music. The thing is, I don't know what to work on. I'd like to one day be proficient at rock, metal, blues, jazz, funk, and flamenco. I'm decent at some of these styles, but some (such as funk and flamenco) i have very little experience with. My teacher gave me a couple dozen instructional books that he didn't want anymore that cover most of these, but some of them aren't so great. (E.g. One paticular jazz book just gives you progressions and what to solo over them with)

So, does anyone have any ideas of what I could work on to get better at these?
Ask your teacher if he knows the theory for these. He should (at least for rock, metal, blues, jazz, and maybe funk, I've never heard of flamenco) if he's teaching.
funk-learn chord inversions. most of what Funk is.

Flamenco is a whole other world of guitar playing.
If you want to learn Flamenco, or jazz you should get a teacher that specializes in either. Flamenco is a bit different than other classical genres. You fingerpick differently and use different sets of techniques. Jazz stresses extremely proficient improvisational skills and an extremely good ear combined with instumental virtuosity. Both take YEARS to completely master.
Quote by surethingmrvai
Funk: basic major/minor chords played in certain rhythm

Flamenco: Phrygian

erm not really,

for funk u wana look at mainly minor7 and 9th chords with major/minor pentatonic licks thrown in. You've gotta be really hot on ure 16th note rhythm patterns so sit down with a metronome.

what i suggest u do is practice playing 16th notes to the metronome (thats up down up down for each beat of the bar) and alter your muting patterns. For example, try playing only half notes with all the rest muted (so every other click of the metronome is played and all the rest are muted) then quater notes unmuted (so every beat of the metrononme unmuted) then 8ths.