Hi, my best friend and I have been playing guitar for about 2 years now and are thinking about starting a band, but there is one main problem... I have been taking lessons for those 2 years and learned all kinds of techniques while all he has done is learned how to read tab and pratice songs that he likes all day so therefore his...

-Bends suck
-Vibrato sucks
-Absolutely no knowledge of theory
-Muting sucks
-Tries to sweep but sucks
-Legato sucks
-Phrasing sucks
-Doesn't know how to use a metronome
-Doesn't understand the concept of triplets, sixtuplets, 16th notes, 8th notes, etc.
-Doesn't alternate pick or at least economy pick, still does the beginner's "all downstroke" method.
-Doesn't want to take lessons
-Wants to learn more songs
-Is decent a rhythm but wants to do "trade off" lead guitar soloes with me

EDIT: also when he is playing there is a ****load of open string and unwanted noise so it sounds like ****, but for some reason he doesn't hear all the unwanted noise and thinks his playing sounds good.

So what do I do to convince him that he MUST improve on all of the above in addition to other things before he can play leads or even begin a band??
Last edited by rasuya46 at Oct 2, 2007,
Well, I think you should just sit with him one day and teach him as much that you have learned as you can, that's how me and my band do it, we tell each other new things.
lol well ivebee playi almost two years n i no all tha stuff if hes inrested in being guitarist anddd musician he shud learn that stuff n hw an u suk at bends?n how can he stil boing downstrokesthts sad y dont u b a good friend n help him out with that stuff i did that with my bestfriend n hes improvin fast
Quote by Allnightmask22

Alternatively, have your friends hold him down, then take a dump in his mouth, make sure your genitals don't touch him though, that's gay.

Quote by RageAgainst...
Teddy-Metal
for those who like to mosh, but just wanna cuddle afterwards

smashing pumkins fans=)^