When I play live I hear complaints that somtimes I just "stand around."
So I've tried improving my performance by head banging, pogoing, and other things. I guess this is a stupid question, but how do I look cool while playing guitar without pulling out all the old rock and roll cliches and looking retarded?
I'm not a gigging musician but I'd bet that if you're bold about it, and make it look natural, it won't look cheesy. I mean, look at Angus Young. Most people marvel at him, but if most people tried to do that they'd just be like "psh, what a fool" or something.

That's just my 2 cents I guess. There's probably someone around here who can give you much better advice.
hey man if you got room on stage then strut around a little bit. try moving really close to the audience for solos so they can check it out. depending what kind of music your playing than headbanging would also be cool.
Smile, enjoy playing and show it (unless its br00tal metal, in which case it probably isn't very enjoyable). Move around, maybe jump a bit, simply do what feels natural. The number one thing is definitely to relax and feel happy about it.
Quote by XxLloydxX
How young would you consider no-pedo attempt
Quote by 6Slay6tanic6
got long hair?

Circle headbang til your head falls off.

thast better than vertical headbanging(is that what you call it? going back and forth?)
but bad for your neck

man dude i know when you practice you can do w/e you want, but once on stage, its terrifying so just think this, "youre on stage theyre not, they all wud like to be in your place, and youve got what they dont, so let em see what you can do" read dat in an article on UG, it really helps

and try headbanging, kinda walking around with your guitar, go next to your bass player and your drummer, do all kinds of stuff
don't force anything. if you put too much effort into looking cool, you're probably gonna end up not looking cool.