Ok so there's a local battle of the bands tomorrow night and my music teacher put me playing bass with a few bands cos there's no bassists in the area. I'm actually a guitarist. Is it very different from playing guitar? Also how do I fit into bands that are completely different genres than me?
Quote by snipelfritz
Yeah well the Nazi Horn conquers the French Horn in two weeks.

Halogen Lights
so wait, you've never played Bass before, and you need to be a bass player for a few bands tomorrow?
Real eyes realise real lies.
oh dang you crazy man!
Quote by gallagher2006
Whats a Steve Vai? Floyd Rose ripoff?

Quote by Mr. Twelve
Behold...the Arctopus are obviously music. I don't see how anyone could say they're not music compared to many modern and post-modern composers. That being said, I think B...tA are terrible.
Its a tad different. Its not something that just because you can play guitar you can pick up a bass right away and play like a pro... you still need to learn to play bass even if your an experienced guitar player. Its a different instrument.
Last edited by dutch5367 at Oct 5, 2007,
a bass playing friend of mine says bass is harder than guitar. (well he plays both. mainly bass)

your not a bass player ? lol.. good luck
i have an acoustic bass so i kind of have an idea. i only need to sound ok at it. whats different?
Quote by snipelfritz

Halogen Lights
no just play a few songs. i kno around the world by chili peppers already
Quote by snipelfritz

Halogen Lights
i dont know about anything about playing bass, but your music teacher just signed you up for this, and at the last minute, sounds pretty stupid to me.
(\__/)
(='.'=)Help the Bunny
(")_(")
I find bass to be tougher than guitar simply because of the feel, the fact the strings are thicker, and how you have to be a lot more consistent with how hard you are hitting the strings.
Quote by fukyu1980
LOL ! muther fuker i was gonna say that LOL!