OK, I attend the Unversity of Michigan and am majoring in music performance on euphonium. However, I really have no passion for the instrument, and am really not getting any fulfillment from it. Anyway, I was considering a switch to classical guitar.

I've been playing the electric bass for over 4 years, and just about 2 years on "standard" guitar. Also, I am required to perform a solo on the guitar before December. I can already shred 2-octave scales (all major, all minor and most modes) on the classical, but my music-reading is limited on it. I can read all four clefs very quickly, and can read/play on bass, but making the connection on guitar is a bit new to me.

Anyway, what advise could you give to a guy in my spot? I'm brand new to the classical, so any tips would be greatly appreciated, as well as book reccommendations, etc. Thanks!!!!
"Comedy's a dead art form. Now tragedy, that's funny." -Bender Bending Rodriguez
1) Guliani excersizes (boring as hell but you can learn a bit with the right hand with them)
Paganini (crazy **** probably won't be able to play but some of the riffs arent too hard and they all sound amazing)
A lot of mozart songs are very fun on guitar.
Fuer elise can be a nice challenge if played fast enough. (the well known part the rest sounds like utter **** on guitar)
Play hard songs on half speed at first. Gradually work them as fast you can go. I hate playing slower than full tempo but I admit I have to for a lot of Paganini stuff.
Um...hopefully you've already practiced fingerstyle.

Pick + classical guitar = fail audition

Anyways, familiarize yourself with playing Bach and Sor pieces. Use standard notation to learn them, and do this enough to become fluent with sight-reading the treble cleff (or at least working your way towards that).

And DO NOT play something like Fur Elise or Canon in D. Even if you give a spotless performance (and Fur Elise DOES get very challenging in the middle) it'll still annoy the auditioners.