Long story short, Ive always wanted to learn to play the guitar, at least intermediately.
I have a nice fender acoustic i play whenever i have time, home from school, off from work.

Unfortuantely the only way i know how to play some songs is because ive memorized where to put my fingers from tabs.

I have no knowledge of chord names, barre chords, scales. etc. All i know are the names of the strings.

I really want to learn everything i can. Hows the best way to start?
read a book on music theory and learn to read notes
Quote by cakeandpiemofo
Quote by tuwyci
why are metal musicians prone to fatness?
Cause there music is heavy.

Writing music is hard D:
getting a tutor is best but if you want a more cheaper method, reading books and watching vids about playing works. there are some videos here in uG and a lot of free lessons in the "lessons" column
Start by learning the minor and major pentatonic scales, and then open chords [A,C,D,E] in major and minor

There's plenty of resources about it on the net, and i think quite alot on here, i saw one on the bottom left section of the front page about taking it up only a few days ago
Quote by philipisabeast
Start by learning the minor and major pentatonic scales, and then open chords [A,C,D,E] in major and minor

There's plenty of resources about it on the net, and i think quite alot on here, i saw one on the bottom left section of the front page about taking it up only a few days ago

Um, not really...pentatonics are a way off.

TS, all you need to do is get a book on chords or look for some of the basic lessons her on UG. At the same time start tring to learn the notes on the guitar..it's pretty easy as it's the same 7 note pattern that keeps repeating on each string. Also read a little bit on the major scale and chord formation as it'll teach you how to form chords so you're not having to memorize finger patterns for every single chord you want to play.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62