Hey all,

I have been shopping around a little bit lately for a new amp. So far what I like the most are the Randall RH150G3 head with cabinet or the comparable RG100G3 combo amp. I like the distortion, gain, crunch of these randalls. Where I am stuck is that I have been playing for about 3 years all at home and I have no clue if i will ever play gigs etc. as I mostly play for fun and a hobby. So i dont know if a halfstack is worth it if I have no intention on leaving the house/garage to play.

I could afford approx $900-$1000. I was going amp shopping again today and was hoping for some input or other amp suggestions I should try while i am out. Thanks
What type of music do you play?

You can a pretty sexy amp for that price.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
Either one is a big amp just for dicking around at home. Are you jamming with other players? Is this strictly for metal, or is there other stuff you play?

IMHO, there are many nicer amps out there in your price range. A used Mesa F30 or F50 combo would blow these out of the water. I could come up with others if I knew more about what you need it for.
You Don't Need a halfstack.

You Don't Need 100W.

Quote by jj1565
i love you slats.
I like to play metal/rock. Metallica, trivium, pantera etc. What amps were you thinking?
Hey slatsmania, apart from metal I guess i like some chilli peppers, guns and roses and of course the odd clean songs. I may jam with some friends once in awhile but mostly by myself. I am not that familiar with alot of equipment so I was hoping for some suggestions that I can try while I am shopping around in the next little while. Thanks