Hey ppl. I started playing the guitar recently... I'd been with a tutor before, but i had to quit. I know some of the basic stuff, a few chords (C major, E major, A major, A minor....) I don't know what to learn next. I'd really appreciate it if the gurus here guide me and tell me what to do next... Thanks. Oh yeah, i play an acoustic guitar.
Fingerpicking

its the reason why stairway to heaven is a popular beginner song, but tell ya what, its not that easy for a beginner!

Go for it
Quote by henza_x
Fingerpicking

its the reason why stairway to heaven is a popular beginner song, but tell ya what, its not that easy for a beginner!

Go for it

stairway is perfect for a beginner, it has fingerpicking, barre chords, and soloing in pentatonic ( i think?) and its not that hard to be honest i played it when i was just starting....just not the solo.

try some green day songs, if you dont like them theres plenty of easy ones.
Do you have a capo TS? you should get one, then you can play songs like
How to save a life,
Collide
Wonderwall
I will follow you into the dark
Hey there Deliah (no capo needed) /
Over my head,
well thats of course if your into those kinda songs.
K... But i have no idea what a Capo TS is.... I think the word noob sez it all. Anyways, ill find out and try to learn all of them.
Oh yeah, the fingerpicking... My guitar doesn't have nylon strings. Nickel bronze strings... I've heard that fingerpicking ain't gonna sound so good on metal strings... Would love some info on that.
What you've heard is true. Fingerpicking is best done with a classical (also known as nylon stringed). What's also different about nylon and steel is that nylon guitars have a wider neck compared to a steel string.