Hi.

im a self taught guitarist, and was just wondering if there was anywhere online that i could find a rundown of the syllabus for guitar gradings.

just interested for myself really. would be kinda nice to compare to some sort of scale where i am skill wise. cheers
--------------------i'm definitely the alphaest male here--------------------
How long you been playing? I'm doing my grade four and five in the next couple of months (sent the application and waiting for my exam dates). I've not done grades before so I'm doing both just in case I fail the grade 5.

I know a fair amount of what you need to be able to do for RGT grades up to grade five. What kind of grade level do you think you're at right now? Let me know and I can give you an idea of what you need to be able to do for the grade you think you're at.

You can look here for some information:

http://www.registryofguitartutors.com/syllabus-downloads.htm
Last edited by C_Turton at Oct 8, 2007,
nice one, cheers.

i've been playing for about 8 years now, and just never looked into the possibility of grades til recently.
One of the guitarists in my band says he is going for his grade 5 and i KNOW im technically better than he is.
couldnt guess what level i was at though, as i havent a clue of the criteria. if you could give me a rundown of the syllabus you have done so far, i would really appreciate it.

cheers.
Ok, grade five requires the ability to play the following:

Scales -

Pentatonic minor scale and blues scale in any key through one octave in five different fingerboard positions.

Major scale and natural minor scale in any key through two octaves in two fingerboard positions.

Harmonic minor scale in any key through two octaves in one position.

Pentatonic major through two octaves in three positions.

Pentatonic minor through one octave in 5ths (yeah, a scale of power chords).

Arpeggios (all in any key through one octave in two fingerboard positions) -

Dominant seventh
Major seventh
Minor seventh