Well I've been playing guitar for about 4-5 years now, and I've upgraded to my first tube (ordered this morning). I've been reading up about them, and because of the positive feedback I got from you UG'ers I decided to get a Peavey Valveking 112. What I want to know is are there any real DO NOTS involved in tube amp maintenance and use? Like stuff that would be OK on a SS amp, but is death to a tube.

Thanks in advance =D.
Read the manual. Turn it on and off exactly in the sequence recommended (power on, 30 or more seconds later standby on.) I recommend don't leave it on standby unattended, and don't leave it on standby more than 15 minutes at a time. Enjoy yourself.
DO-
Let the tubes warm up for about 30 sec-1 minute before you play
Play loud enough to hear glorius tube tone without shattering your ear drum
Spend some time finding the right setting
Have a great time with a tube amp
Treat your amp with respect, dont ust toss it in the back of your car, place it where it wont roll around
Replace the tubes every 1-2 years

DO NOT
Touch the tubes with bare hands
Move the amp while it's on/right when it's off (The tubes are hot and more likely to break)
Turn on and play with the volume all the way immediately

Congrats by the way
My Strat/Modded '69 RI Mustang
Ovation 1117-4 c. '75
Fender Blues Jr. [JJ Power Tubes, White Grille, Warehouse Speakers Greenback Clone]
BOARDZILLA 2.0

#? of EHX Guild
don't turn it on at a high volume and start playing straight away. put it on standby and leave it for at least a minute. Be a little more careful about throwing it about in case you damage the tubes. do NOT handle this while plugged in, whilst this is dangerous with an SS amp and you can get a shock which could kill you (most likely won't) you're going to get an even bigger shock from a tube, levels which can easily kill
Quote by Kutanmoogle
Now introducing Megabreth, Dave Mustaine's signature Tic-Tac!

Member of the ENGL Family

Gear:

Hamer Vector
OLP John Petrucci