Page 1 of 2
I have a dilemma. I was going to play Orion for the school variety show (it's in a month) but our bassist backed out of the act to play another song that his girlfriend wants to sing. (she ain't exactly velvet voiced, it's gonna suck)

Anyway, looks like I'm gonna have to do something else. I'd like to play Canon Rock, but I have no experience sweeping. Do you think I can learn it in a month?
If you're pretty good at playing already, and you have plenty of time to practise, you can make a convincing attempt.
No way, too hard for one month. I've been sweeping for a few months and it took me ages before I could do the sweeps in Canon
Ibanez RG1527
ENGL Blackmore Sig.
Marshall 1960A Cab
Orange 4x12 Cab

Member of UG's Official Gain \/\/hores - Invite Only
If you've never done sweeping, no i wouldn't waste my time trying to learn it in one month.
I've been learning sweeping for months on and off, I still can't get 3 string sweeps perfect
started learning to sweep when id been playin a year, took me about a month to get the basics of it sorted, meant that i could do 6 string sweeps at a constant pace (not gentaro like speed or anything) but at a speed that felt nice. but to be honest i think the easiest way (if you have tabs) is find the bit thats sweeping, and start learning it, if within a few days your not getting it, it aint gonna work
It'll be very tough, but if you work really hard you might have a chance, just don't expect it to be perfect
Gear List

Guitars
PRS SE Tremonti
Ltd Mh-100qmnt
Peavey Rotor ex
Crafter Acoustic

Amps
Bugera 333
Bugera 412h

Effects
Marshall Shredmaster
Line 6 MM4
Line 6 DL4
Ibanez Weeping Demon
Dan Electro Fish'n'chips
Ibanez LU-10
Maybe it's just me but I found Sweep picking to really easy I learned it in about two days on three strings and then almost 2 weeks for full barre chords if you're like me than it won't take that long.
Gear
Fender Stratocaster MIM
Jackson DX10