I've been playin guitar roughly on and off for a year maybe now and Im kind of lost. I pick it up and it's like i dont know what to play. I jam sometimes with friends but it always seems like I'm not good enough. I've self taught myself alot of theory which I kind of used to try to get back into playing, but that didnt really help. Im LOST.

I want to get better and i try different things like lessons but it doesnt seem like much progress it happening due to me not knowing how to advance as a player. It seems like playing tabs sometimes isnt enough too.

Any advice on where I should start getting serious? I love to play but i feel like I want to advance.
Ibanez RG350DX - ESP LTD EC-500

Peavey JSX 212 Combo - Digitech RP 250
find more some new music that might interest you, try to learn it, that usualy gets my guitar juices flowing
Everybody Loves Lefty..

Lefties Unite!

Melodic Thrash Metal and winners of the Wacken Metal Battle Canada and 2nd Place Runner Ups for Wacken Metal Battle International

PROFANER
Lessons may be worthwhile.

Progress in our chosen instrument isn't liner, rather it "plateaus" where it seems like you aren't getting anywhere for a while, then you suddenly "jump" in skill. You may not feel that you're progressing, but you are. It just takes some time to realize it.

There are a few things that can help. Adjusting your practice schedule might be one. You didn't say how often you practice, but if you really want to progress I'd suggest at least an hour a day 5 days a week, and alternate between scales, theory, and chords (one day), and riffs, songs, and general fun (alternate day).