Okay so, recently I had a birthday and I asked for some new strings for the acoustic guitar I had recently started playing. Mind you, this guitar is probably 5-6 years old, I got it as a young teenager so that's why I asked for new strings. The strings I had just sounded very bad and ringy, not like something was touching the strings, just very ..it's hard to describe.

So, my birthday comes and I open up some Martin MSP4000 Phosphor Bronze Extra Light Acoustic Guitar Strings and have a good friend of mine put those "bad boys" on. I played them and they sounded even more shallow. There was just like no substance to them. This is all very hard for me to describe, as I don't know all the terms used for guitars. I'm a pretty big noob.

So I couldn't decide what was wrong. My guitar is an Alpine GA100, and pretty old. I was just wondering if my guitar is low quality and that type of sound is expected, or if it's the strings or the work of the stringer.

Thank you.
yea there are right and wrong ways to string your guitar....or its that you dont like the sound of the strings you got since there are many types of strings
ya man different types of strings make different lil diff types of sound...i just but steel-ish acoustic strings and man i hate it. all clanky and trebly. I love my martin copper one with the warm soft tone
A.K.A. Titanguy
I googled your guitar and yeah... I think that might be the problem. From my experience, cheap equipment works well with other cheap equipment and good equipment only works well with good equipment and not vice-versa... you might need cheap strings to make it work well... just a thought
POOP
[img]http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c200/rvd316/Screenshot_37.jpg[/img]
POOP
I see, could I easily just take the current strings off and put them back on correctly? Or are they already fit to how they are now? Any string recommendations if I do get new ones?

Sorry I feel like a big dumbass asking some of these questions lol.