i've been playing guitar for about 1 1/2 years now and i love thrash metal... i can play some lead (mainly pentatonic scale) but i really want to start learning to shred.. i can solo but just not over the type of music i like... i play about 3 hours a day (just for fun not for practicing shredding) on school days and all day on weekends but i dont know how to practice shredding... i cant take lessons and no one in my area can shred so ill have to learn on my own... so i guess here are my questions : 1.) how many hours do I need to be playing on school days 2.) What do I need to practice 3.) How should I practice (do i just play whatever or do I need strict exercises and guitar "workouts" i do everyday increasing speed................. i know what shredding is but i dont what i should be doing to start off..... see i always play for fun... practice scales, make up songs, cover songs, etc..... but shredding seems to be less fun and more discipline..i just wanna know what to start off practicing because i can't sweep barre chords at 346414190478341 bpm lol... all help appreciated
i play max 5 min a day because my parents are weird AND i can play 200bpm. you just have to focus whenever you do practice, and practice the RIGHT THING

just do seriously alt pick exercises and sweeping, start slow. string crossing/skipping.

SCALES. LOTS AND LOTS OF SCALES. if you only do one thing, do SCALES. in every possible permutation. in thirds. fifths. octaves. (not double stops, but like, do one note, then the note a third above it etc)

you want to integrate technique development with "what you're going to use" which would be scales, so do scales in a way that improves your technique.
i have a 'white guitar'
Quote by .fallen
i play max 5 min a day because my parents are weird AND i can play 200bpm. you just have to focus whenever you do practice, and practice the RIGHT THING

just do seriously alt pick exercises and sweeping, start slow. string crossing/skipping.