I am primarily a bassist, and have a few nice bass amps, however I decided to play guitar through a real guitar amp, so when I bought my guitar, I decided to buy a 50+ watt amp with the guitar... With the deal it came down too, I had a choice between a Line 6 Spider III 75 watt, or a Crate 65w... I choose the Crate, simply because when testing the Spider III really hated the tone, and from the pre-set EQ the Crate distortion/clean channels sounded great... Did I make the right choice in choosing the smaller wattage amp? Or can the Spider III produce some good sounds if I took some time to mess with it's extremely complicated looking EQ?
LOL@COMPLEXEQ.

I have a spider III 75W. I'm not gonna go ahead and say it's the most kickass piece of machinery ever, but hell. it works. But dude, it's seriously WAY easy to work. It's a few knobs and a 4-way button.

And, unless you're gigging, 50W+ usually isn't exactly worth it. I've got a 75W amp and I never use more than 25W-30W max. I tweaked it up about halfway once, and only once. (It sounds like ass.)

I would have got a roland cube if I were you. I wish I did.
Quote by fly135
Great list Rutch. On re-reading this one I'd have to say Solid State means not liquid or gas.

I figured it out.
Your ear was right The line 6 spider range is known around here to be a piece of... well you know.
Quote by Masonpwiley
Line 6 = phail

No, you = phail, and spiders = phail. Flextone, Vetta and POD are good line 6 amp modellers that i can think of off the top of my head...

edit: @Ishiga - tbh i turned a cube 30 up about halfway yesterday and it also sounded nasty. well to me it did anyway.
I like analogue Solid State amps that make no effort to be "tube-like", and I'm proud of it...

...A little too proud, to be honest.
Last edited by Blompcube at Oct 11, 2007,
i have a spider and its fine
GuItArS
Epiphone Les PAul StandarD

AmPs
Line 6 Spider III 120

group http://

group join if u want Ug hockey fans
Quote by tba50333