All I want to do is be able to record (and edit and mix) my electric guitar, acoustic guitar, and keyboard on my home computer. I've downloaded Audacity and to keep it simple I think I just want to stick with that for now. I'm completely new to all of this.
I've been doing a lot of research and I'm still not sure what I need except a microphone. Don't I need some kind of cable to plug the mic into my computer? When do sound cards become an issue? etc.
So keeping in mind what I'm trying to do, can someone give me a list of the equipment I need or point me in the direction of a website that's actually helpful?
you got soul, or so you say. hey, i say you don't!

Quote by Sol9989
Well all you technically need is a microphone and an adapter that goes from 1/4 to Headphone size. Which looks like this

http://home.earthlink.net/~wb5rex/xtalman/big2smladap.JPG

Plug the mic into that , that into the mic slot on your soundcard and you are set to record.
^yep

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Err.. yeah its spose to be that easy, I think it destroys your computer speakers though when you plug yoru guitar in your cvomputer..

its best to get some software like the m-audio interface thingo
audobe audition, very good program, can do alot of stuff with it

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus-Top, SH-2 and SH-5
Ibanez GRX20
Baron Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 112
Roland Cube 15
Dunlop Crybaby From Hell
Dunlop GCB-95 Crybaby
Boss MT-2 Metal Zone
Boss PH-3 Phase Shifter
Boss BF-3 Flanger