Hi can anybody tell me the intervals of the modes. or just all the intervals in genral so i can work them out myself. many thanks carl
Ionian- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Dorian- 1 2 b3 4 5 6 b7
Phrygian- 1 b2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Lydian- 1 2 3 #4 5 6 7
Mixolydian- 1 2 3 4 5 6 b7
Aeolian- 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Locrian- 1 b2 b3 4 b5 b6 b7
theres always been this question in the back of my head when im studying over modes... should i memorize all of those intervals? because i've heard that just memorizing the finger patterns on the fretboard is a bad habit, so how should i go about memorizing them?
<Raven> I got so baked last night
<Raven> that I WOKE UP high o_o
<Raven> Do you have any idea how euphoric that is?
<Raven> I felt like I was being born.
memorizing intervals =/= memorizing finger patterns, CC.

When you memorize the patterns, you end up depending on them and forget you are playing in a scale, you are playing in that one pattern you practised once. By learning the intervals, it allows you to be more creative, and it's not really a finger pattern as such that with the intervals you can play a mode anywhere, with any note per string combination, pretty much instantly.
yeah when i think about it that way it becomes too overwhelming for me and i just dont know where to start X(
Start with the major scale - seeing as the modes are just the major scale viewed in a different way. If you know the major scale intervals inside out you can "see" the modes a lot easier.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
well i know the major scale lol...
Quote by C.C. Deville
well i know the major scale lol...

Do you know it all over the fretboard? Do you know the intervals that it is made of?
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin