Hey all,

I'm kinda new to these forums, I've been checking them on and off for a while but never signed up. The last real music/instrument related forum I was an active member of was Taborama, before the owner closed it down due to all the tab killing hype and law suits.

Anyhow, I myself am a 20 year old dude, and a guitarist by that. I've been playing guitar since I was about 15, but I'm not very good at it lol. It's been quite a while since I've picked up one of my axes, mainly because I'm getting extremely tired of the ''guitarist scene'' down here (pre-pubescant kids all saying ''I'm a better guitarist than you because I can play satch like #3969161''), that, and I just cant seem to vocalise what I want to with guitar anymore.

I want to try bass. I've been digging it for a long time, but I recently decided that I actually want to purchase one, mainly because I can get an amp for free (my cousin has an ol' ass Ampeg that he never uses), and since Tool and Gorillaz came in to my life I just really wanna play this extremely ''moody'' instrument. It appeals to me so much because, from what I've noticed, if used properly it can really set so much mood and sphere into a song. Now my questions are:

-I've been playing guitar for about 5 years, and I am quite fast in the fingers (i.e can ''shred'' a bit, sweep picking etc.). I'm also pretty used to stuff like natural harmonics, pinch harmonics etc. What would I need to focus on when playing bass, after playing guitar for 5 years?